fbpx
frzh-CNende

Museum of the Armored

Room Allied World War II

Room Allied World War II

The first Allied tanks present in France, as of September 1939, were the Matilda tanks and the Vickers chenilletes of the British Expeditionary Force, who came to support the French troops in the north. Other units of the Royal Tank Corps, equipped with light tanks Matilda II and Covenanter, All these troops will courageously fight, during the counter-attack of Abbeville in particular, despite the weaknesses of their equipment, little armored and only weapons of 40 mm guns.

The Dieppe suicide operation (Spring 1942), where Canadian troops will be sacrificed to withdraw lessons from a landing attempt, will see the first commitment of the new Churchill tank, from which will be derived a whole family of special machines or "funnies": bearer of fascines to fill the pits; "Crocodile": equipped with a flamethrower and a trailer for incendiary frost; anemones with a chains of hammers hammering the ground. . .

Alliee Room

Then comes the Valentine, whose exemplary 10 000s will concern various versions, and which will equip the French Army of Africa, during the fighting of Tunisia. All these blinds will fight effectively against the Italian blinds in Cyrenaica, but the least that can be said is that they will not make the weight against Marshal Rommel's Panzer.

Fortunately, massive American reinforcements arrive in Egypt and it is with no pleasure that the "Desert Rat" discovers the new Grant and Sherman during the battle of EI Alamein, in the autumn 1942. It's sort of a baptism of fire for the American blinds.

In the inter-war period, the United States showed no interest in tanks, which were of no use. Their only experience in this field was that of General Patton during the First World War. Formed at the Cavalry School of Saumur, he created in the east of France the first school of blinds US with Renault FT and will participate in the attack of Saint-Mihiel.

Some gear you'll come across in the room Allies World War II:

- M4 Sherman

- Jeep

- KV 1

- AM M8 Greyhound

- T34 / 76

- Matilda II

- Churchill Mk.V

And many others ...


machinery

  • The Churchill

    If one should not expect aesthetic miracles from a tank, the silhouette of the Churchill still has something to surprise, with its lines carved with a bill hook, its immense tracks, its almost cylindrical turret of 'where a thin cannon comes out. Yet the 540 examples of these tanks, produced in different versions, proved to be very effective, on all fronts ...

    To know more

  • The Valentine Mark III tank

    The project file for a new infantry support tank was proposed to the British War Office in 1938, on Valentine's Day. He was therefore baptized Valentine! Like all British tanks of this period, it was not an extraordinary machine although 3700 units of several versions were built. The free French ...

    To know more

  • The Stuart tank

    If its name suggests a British origin, the Stuartest makes it an American 13-ton light tank which reached its heyday during the two battles of El Alamein, in June and October 1942. However, with its 30 mm gun, these 7,62 mm machine guns and 38 mm armor, this small machine, of little weight compared to the Panzer III and IV of Rommel, could play an effective role ...

    To know more

  • the Matilda MK I and II tank

    It was a fashionable song across the Channel in 1940: "Walzing Matilda", extrapolated from the bag that swayed on the hips of English railway workers when they walked. And, since these tanks had a very soft suspension, they were named Matilda! Another legend has it that this tank was called Matilda by Australian troops arriving in Egypt in 1942: The ...

    To know more

  • The M4 Sherman tank

    For the French, the Sherman tank is the mythical tank of the liberation, especially since it equipped the Leclerc Division when it entered Paris. The general opinion was, however, that it was not a very good machine. Lightly armored (12 to 76 mm), poorly armed (1 gun of 75 and 2 machine guns), slow (40 km / h), the M4 was in all points inferior to the German tanks. But the number (more than ...

    To know more

  • The tank T 34-76

    We can say of this tank that it traumatized the Germans when it appeared during the counter-offensives of the winter of 1941-1942, in front of Moscow. Studied according to the specialties of the climate and the Russian topography, it passed at ease in the snow and the mud where the Panzers stuck. Its diesel engine started at a quarter-turn while the Werhmacht consumed a precious ...

    To know more

Musée des Blindés

Salle Alliés Seconde Guerre Mondiale

Salle Alliés Seconde Guerre Mondiale

Les premiers blindés alliés présents en France, dès septembre 1939, furent les chars Matilda et les chenillettes Vickers de la British Expeditionary Force, venue épauler les troupes françaises dans le nord. Viendront ensuite d'autres unités du Royal Tank Corps, équipées de chars légers Matilda II et Covenanter. Toutes ces troupes combattront courageusement, lors de la contre-attaque d'Abbeville notamment, en dépit des faiblesses de leurs matériels, peu blindés et armes seulement de canons de 40 mm.

L'opération suicide de Dieppe (printemps 1942), où des troupes canadiennes seront sacrifiées pour retirer des enseignements d'une tentative de débarquement de vive force, verra le premier engagement du nouveau char Churchill, duquel sera dérivée toute une famille d'engins spéciaux ou « funnies » : porteur de fascines pour combler les fosses ; " Crocodile " : équipé d'un lance-flammes et d'une remorque pour le gel incendiaire ; antimines avec un fléau de chaines martelant le sol. . .

Salle Alliee

Viendra ensuite la Valentine dont les 10 000 exemplaires concerneront divers versions, et qui équipera l'Armée Française d'Afrique, lors des combats de Tunisie. Tous ces blindes combattront efficacement contre les blindes italiens en Cyrenaique mais, le moins que l'on puisse dire est qu'ils ne feront pas le poids face aux Panzer du maréchal Rommel.

Heureusement, des renforts américains massifs arrivent en Egypte et c'est sans plaisir que le « Rat du désert » découvre les nouveaux Grant et Sherman lors de la bataille d'EI Alamein, a l'automne 1942. C'est en quelque sorte le baptême du feu pour les blindes Américains.

Dans l'entre-deux guerres, les Etats-Unis n'ont montre aucun intérêt pour les chars, n'en ayant aucune utilité. Leur seule expérience en ce domaine est alors celle du général Patton, au cours de la Première Guerre Mondiale. Formé a l'Ecole de Cavalerie de Saumur, il créera dans l'est de la France la première école de blindes US avec des Renault FT et participera à l'attaque de Saint-Mihiel.

Quelques engins que vous croiserez dans la salle Alliés Seconde Guerre Mondiale :

- M4 Sherman

- Jeep

- KV 1

- AM M8 Greyhound

- T34/76

- Matilda II

- Churchill Mk.V

Et bien d'autres encore ...


Engins

  • Le char Churchill

    S'il ne faut pas s'attendre d'un char d'assaut des miracles esthétiques, la silhouette du Churchill a tout de même de quoi surprendre, avec ses lignes taillées à coup de serpe, ses immenses chenilles, sa tourelle presque cylindrique d'où sort un maigre canon. Pourtant les 540 exemplaires des ces chars, produits en différentes versions, se révélèrent fort efficaces, sur tout les fronts...

    En savoir plus

  • Le char Valentine Mark III

    Le dossier du projet de nouveau char d'accompagnement de l'infanterie il fut proposé au ministère de la Guerre britannique en 1938, le jour de la Saint-Valentin. Il fut donc baptisé Valentine ! Comme tous les blindés britanniques de cette époque, ce ne fut pas une machine extraordinaire bien que le 3700 unités de plusieurs versions en furent construites. Les Français libres...

    En savoir plus

  • Le char Stuart

    Si son nom laisse imaginer une origine britannique, le Stuartest en fait un char léger américain de 13 tonnes qui connut son heure de gloire lors des deux batailles d'El Alamein, en juin et octobre 1942. Pourtant avec son canon de 30 mm, ces mitrailleuses de 7,62 mm et son blindage de 38 mm, ce petit engin, de peu de poids en face des Panzer III et IV de Rommel, a pu jouer un rôle efficace...

    En savoir plus

  • le char Matilda MK I et II

    C'était une chanson à la mode outre-Manche en 1940 : « Walzing Matilda », extrapolée à la musette qui se balançait sur les hanches des cheminots anglais quand ils marchaient. Et, comme ces chars avaient une suspension très souple, ils ont été baptisés Matilda ! Une autre légende raconte que ce char fut appelé Matilda par les troupes Australiennes arrivant en Égypte en 1942 : Le...

    En savoir plus

  • Le char M4 Sherman

    Pour les français, le char Sherman est le char mythique de la libération, d'autant qu'il équipait la Division Leclerc lorsqu'elle est entrée dans Paris. De l'avis général, ce n'était pourtant pas un très bon engin. Peu blindé (12 à 76 mm), mal armé (1 canon de 75 et 2 mitrailleuse), lent (40 km/h), le M4 était en tous points inférieur aux chars Allemands. Mais le nombre (plus de...

    En savoir plus

  • Le char T 34-76

    On peut dire de ce char qu'il traumatisa les allemands lorsqu'il fit son apparition lors des contre-offensives de l'hiver 1941-1942, devant Moscou. Étudié en fonction des spécialités du climat et la topographie russe, il passait à l'aise dans la neige et la boue là où les Panzers s'enlisaient. Son moteur diesel démarrait au quart de tour alors que la Werhmacht consommait un précieux...

    En savoir plus