frzh-CNende

Museum of the Armored

The Cadets of Saumur June 1940

21,50 € (+ 8,20 € of postage)

The Cadets of Saumur June 1940

19 June 1940, 0h15: the aspiring reserve students of the 12th Cavalry Brigade scan the north bank of the Loire. Beyond the bridge Napoleon which commands Saumur, they distinguish dark masses advancing in a metallic rumble. At the gun of 25, the young Paulin Houbé chooses a target. Behind him, Lieutenant Gérard de Buffevent says: "Fire!" Houbé shoots.

Two hundred yards away, the first German tanks flamed under the moon. The vanguard of the 1ère Kavallerie Division faces the first serious resistance since the 10 May. The Cadets of Saumur thus enter the legend.

The island of Gennes, the farm of Aunis, the bridge of Montsoreau, Bressuire will mark until the 22 June these fights led by 550 aspiring students of the prestigious school of cavalry, their comrades of the train, of Saint-Maixent, and by scattered elements, dragoons, skirmishers, troopers. In all, 2 200 badly armed but enthusiastic men, resolved to sacrifice to redeem the flight of the defeat of so many others, to defend a front of 40 kilometers facing two German divisions.

To these bearded fighters whom they nicknamed "Kadetten", the German horsemen, soldiers of tradition, paid honors and freedom in homage to their courage.

If you want to buy this book by correspondence, it is possible! Simply contact the shop at 02.41.83.69.95 or by email at the following address: This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

frzh-CNende

Musée des Blindés

Les Cadets de Saumur juin 1940

21,50€ (+8,20€ de frais de port)

Les Cadets de Saumur juin 1940

19 juin 1940, 0h15 : les élèves aspirants de réserve de la 12è Brigade de Cavalerie scrutent la rive nord de la Loire. Au-delà du pont napoléon qui commande Saumur, ils distinguent des masses sombres s'avançant dans un grondement métallique . Au canon de 25, le jeune Paulin Houbé choisit une cible . Derrière lui, le lieutenant Gérard de Buffévent lance : "Feu ! " Houbé tire.

A deux cents mètres , le premier blindés allemand flambe sous la lune. L'avant-garde de la 1ère Kavallerie Division se heurte à la première résistance sérieuse depuis le 10 mai. Les Cadets de Saumur entrent ainsi dans la légende.

L'île de Gennes, la ferme d'Aunis, le pont de Montsoreau, Bressuire vont marquer jusqu'au 22 juin ces combats menés par 550 élèves aspirants de la prestigieuse école de cavalerie, leurs camarades du train, de Saint-Maixent, et par des éléments dispersés, dragons, tirailleurs, enfants de troupe. En tout, 2 200 hommes mal armés mais enthousiastes, résolus au sacrifice pour racheter la fuite de la défaite de tant d'autres, pour défendre un front de 40 kilomètres face à deux divisions allemandes.

A ces combattants imberbes qu'ils surnommèrent eux-mêmes "Kadetten", les cavaliers allemands, soldats de tradition, rendirent les honneurs et la liberté en hommage à leur courage.

Si vous souhaitez vous procurer ce livre par correspondance, c'est possible ! Il vous suffit de contacter la boutique au 02.41.83.69.95 ou par mail à l'adresse suivante : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.